Let Us Help you tackle MISSOURI’S POINT SYSTEM to keep you driving in the Kansas City, MO and surrounding areas!
When you receive a traffic ticket and pay the fine without contesting the ticket, you are essentially pleading guilty to that particular moving violation, and you will be assessed a certain amount of points against your driver’s license. As you accumulate points against your driver’s license, you put your ability to lawfully drive within the State of Missouri at risk.
If you accumulate 8 or more points in 18 months, the Department of Revenue will suspend your driving privilege.
- 1st suspension – 30 days
- 2nd suspension – 60 days
- 3rd or more suspensions – 90 days
The Department of Revenue will revoke your driving privilege for 1-year if you accumulate:
- 12 or more points in 12 months
- 18 or more points in 24 months
- 24 or more points in 36 months
The points against your driver’s license are reduced each year you drive without getting assessed new points.
- After 1-year – remaining points are reduced by one-third
- After 2-years – remaining points will be reduced by one-half
- After 3-years – remaining points will be reduced to zero
EFFECTS ON YOUR INSURANCE RATES
Most insurance companies will raise your insurance rates when you are assessed points against your driver’s license. A single speeding ticket or a minor traffic ticket can increase your insurance premiums 20-22% for 3-5 years. This increase to your insurance premiums can cost you $500-$1000 by the time your premiums return to normal rates.